$30 an hour is how much a year?
At $30 an hour, a full-time worker earns $62,400 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $50,315 in a typical state, from $47,251 in Oregon to $52,318 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$30 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $62,400 | $5,200 | $2,400 | $1,200 |
| 30 hours a week | $46,800 | $3,900 | $1,800 | $900 |
| 20 hours a week | $31,200 | $2,600 | $1,200 | $600 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $45.00 under federal law.
$30 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| Nevada | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| New Hampshire | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| North Dakota | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| South Dakota | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| Tennessee | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| Texas | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| Wyoming | $52,318 | $54,498 | $4,360 | $2,012 | 16.2% |
| Alaska | $51,776 | $53,956 | $4,315 | $1,991 | 17% |
| Washington | $51,453 | $53,633 | $4,288 | $1,979 | 17.5% |
| Ohio | $51,385 | $53,631 | $4,282 | $1,976 | 17.7% |
| Arizona | $51,161 | $53,743 | $4,263 | $1,968 | 18% |
| Louisiana | $50,833 | $53,399 | $4,236 | $1,955 | 18.5% |
| South Carolina | $50,815 | $53,776 | $4,235 | $1,954 | 18.6% |
| Iowa | $50,599 | $53,431 | $4,217 | $1,946 | 18.9% |
| Vermont | $50,592 | $53,207 | $4,216 | $1,946 | 18.9% |
| Mississippi | $50,554 | $53,066 | $4,213 | $1,944 | 19% |
| New Mexico | $50,551 | $53,611 | $4,213 | $1,944 | 19% |
| Indiana | $50,507 | $52,717 | $4,209 | $1,943 | 19.1% |
| Arkansas | $50,497 | $52,798 | $4,208 | $1,942 | 19.1% |
| Nebraska | $50,359 | $53,368 | $4,197 | $1,937 | 19.3% |
| Wisconsin | $50,354 | $53,133 | $4,196 | $1,937 | 19.3% |
| West Virginia | $50,350 | $52,615 | $4,196 | $1,937 | 19.3% |
| North Carolina | $50,337 | $53,026 | $4,195 | $1,936 | 19.3% |
| Missouri | $50,323 | $53,260 | $4,194 | $1,935 | 19.4% |
| Pennsylvania | $50,315 | $52,495 | $4,193 | $1,935 | 19.4% |
| Kentucky | $50,252 | $52,432 | $4,188 | $1,933 | 19.5% |
| Montana | $50,142 | $53,079 | $4,179 | $1,929 | 19.6% |
| Connecticut | $50,123 | $52,958 | $4,177 | $1,928 | 19.7% |
| Idaho | $50,119 | $53,408 | $4,177 | $1,928 | 19.7% |
| Oklahoma | $50,056 | $52,781 | $4,171 | $1,925 | 19.8% |
| Colorado | $50,007 | $52,895 | $4,167 | $1,923 | 19.9% |
| Georgia | $49,953 | $52,882 | $4,163 | $1,921 | 19.9% |
| Utah | $49,933 | $53,316 | $4,161 | $1,921 | 20% |
| Michigan | $49,917 | $52,348 | $4,160 | $1,920 | 20% |
| Rhode Island | $49,909 | $52,706 | $4,159 | $1,920 | 20% |
| New Jersey | $49,775 | $52,796 | $4,148 | $1,914 | 20.2% |
| California | $49,724 | $53,195 | $4,144 | $1,912 | 20.3% |
| Maryland | $49,718 | $52,209 | $4,143 | $1,912 | 20.3% |
| District of Columbia | $49,709 | $52,886 | $4,142 | $1,912 | 20.3% |
| Kansas | $49,636 | $52,635 | $4,136 | $1,909 | 20.5% |
| Virginia | $49,545 | $52,281 | $4,129 | $1,906 | 20.6% |
| Alabama | $49,463 | $52,033 | $4,122 | $1,902 | 20.7% |
| Illinois | $49,374 | $51,699 | $4,115 | $1,899 | 20.9% |
| Minnesota | $49,324 | $52,523 | $4,110 | $1,897 | 21% |
| Delaware | $49,282 | $51,753 | $4,107 | $1,895 | 21% |
| New York | $49,245 | $52,027 | $4,104 | $1,894 | 21.1% |
| Massachusetts | $49,131 | $51,531 | $4,094 | $1,890 | 21.3% |
| Hawaii | $49,068 | $52,717 | $4,089 | $1,887 | 21.4% |
| Maine | $48,976 | $52,151 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 21.5% |
| Oregon | $47,251 | $50,261 | $3,938 | $1,817 | 24.3% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $62,400 include paralegals and legal assistants ($62,890), electricians ($63,190), hvac mechanics and installers ($61,010), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters ($63,800), elementary school teachers ($63,970).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $60,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $30 an hour is how much a year?
- $62,400 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $46,800.
- How much is $30 an hour after taxes?
- Between $47,251 in Oregon and $52,318 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $50,315, or $1,935 every two weeks.
- How much is $30 an hour per month?
- $5,200 a month before taxes, and roughly $4,193 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $30 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $30 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.