$28 an hour is how much a year?
At $28 an hour, a full-time worker earns $58,240 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $47,106 in a typical state, from $44,302 in Oregon to $48,976 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$28 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $58,240 | $4,853 | $2,240 | $1,120 |
| 30 hours a week | $43,680 | $3,640 | $1,680 | $840 |
| 20 hours a week | $29,120 | $2,427 | $1,120 | $560 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $42.00 under federal law.
$28 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| Nevada | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| New Hampshire | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| North Dakota | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| South Dakota | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| Tennessee | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| Texas | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| Wyoming | $48,976 | $51,156 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 15.9% |
| Alaska | $48,434 | $50,614 | $4,036 | $1,863 | 16.8% |
| Washington | $48,168 | $50,348 | $4,014 | $1,853 | 17.3% |
| Ohio | $48,157 | $50,403 | $4,013 | $1,852 | 17.3% |
| Arizona | $47,922 | $50,505 | $3,994 | $1,843 | 17.7% |
| South Carolina | $47,689 | $50,594 | $3,974 | $1,834 | 18.1% |
| Louisiana | $47,615 | $50,181 | $3,968 | $1,831 | 18.2% |
| Iowa | $47,415 | $50,246 | $3,951 | $1,824 | 18.6% |
| New Mexico | $47,404 | $50,447 | $3,950 | $1,823 | 18.6% |
| Vermont | $47,395 | $50,008 | $3,950 | $1,823 | 18.6% |
| Mississippi | $47,378 | $49,890 | $3,948 | $1,822 | 18.7% |
| Arkansas | $47,309 | $49,609 | $3,942 | $1,820 | 18.8% |
| Indiana | $47,287 | $49,497 | $3,941 | $1,819 | 18.8% |
| Nebraska | $47,205 | $50,172 | $3,934 | $1,816 | 18.9% |
| Wisconsin | $47,194 | $49,973 | $3,933 | $1,815 | 19% |
| West Virginia | $47,184 | $49,448 | $3,932 | $1,815 | 19% |
| Missouri | $47,176 | $50,113 | $3,931 | $1,814 | 19% |
| North Carolina | $47,161 | $49,850 | $3,930 | $1,814 | 19% |
| Pennsylvania | $47,106 | $49,286 | $3,926 | $1,812 | 19.1% |
| Kentucky | $47,055 | $49,235 | $3,921 | $1,810 | 19.2% |
| Idaho | $46,997 | $50,286 | $3,916 | $1,808 | 19.3% |
| Montana | $46,995 | $49,932 | $3,916 | $1,808 | 19.3% |
| Connecticut | $46,989 | $49,824 | $3,916 | $1,807 | 19.3% |
| Oklahoma | $46,901 | $49,626 | $3,908 | $1,804 | 19.5% |
| Colorado | $46,865 | $49,754 | $3,905 | $1,803 | 19.5% |
| Utah | $46,830 | $50,213 | $3,902 | $1,801 | 19.6% |
| Georgia | $46,818 | $49,747 | $3,902 | $1,801 | 19.6% |
| Rhode Island | $46,768 | $49,565 | $3,897 | $1,799 | 19.7% |
| Michigan | $46,751 | $49,182 | $3,896 | $1,798 | 19.7% |
| California | $46,685 | $49,990 | $3,890 | $1,796 | 19.8% |
| New Jersey | $46,680 | $49,573 | $3,890 | $1,795 | 19.8% |
| District of Columbia | $46,637 | $49,793 | $3,886 | $1,794 | 19.9% |
| Maryland | $46,573 | $49,064 | $3,881 | $1,791 | 20% |
| Kansas | $46,526 | $49,508 | $3,877 | $1,789 | 20.1% |
| Virginia | $46,441 | $49,178 | $3,870 | $1,786 | 20.3% |
| Alabama | $46,329 | $48,899 | $3,861 | $1,782 | 20.5% |
| Minnesota | $46,283 | $49,421 | $3,857 | $1,780 | 20.5% |
| Illinois | $46,238 | $48,563 | $3,853 | $1,778 | 20.6% |
| Delaware | $46,187 | $48,658 | $3,849 | $1,776 | 20.7% |
| New York | $46,145 | $48,927 | $3,845 | $1,775 | 20.8% |
| Hawaii | $46,062 | $49,661 | $3,839 | $1,772 | 20.9% |
| Massachusetts | $46,016 | $48,416 | $3,835 | $1,770 | 21% |
| Maine | $45,935 | $49,070 | $3,828 | $1,767 | 21.1% |
| Oregon | $44,302 | $47,311 | $3,692 | $1,704 | 23.9% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $58,240 include heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers ($58,640), carpenters ($60,580), hvac mechanics and installers ($61,010), paralegals and legal assistants ($62,890), electricians ($63,190).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $60,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $28 an hour is how much a year?
- $58,240 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $43,680.
- How much is $28 an hour after taxes?
- Between $44,302 in Oregon and $48,976 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $47,106, or $1,812 every two weeks.
- How much is $28 an hour per month?
- $4,853 a month before taxes, and roughly $3,926 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $28 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $28 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.