$29 an hour is how much a year?
At $29 an hour, a full-time worker earns $60,320 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $48,711 in a typical state, from $45,777 in Oregon to $50,647 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$29 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $60,320 | $5,027 | $2,320 | $1,160 |
| 30 hours a week | $45,240 | $3,770 | $1,740 | $870 |
| 20 hours a week | $30,160 | $2,513 | $1,160 | $580 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $43.50 under federal law.
$29 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| Nevada | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| New Hampshire | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| North Dakota | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| South Dakota | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| Tennessee | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| Texas | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| Wyoming | $50,647 | $52,827 | $4,221 | $1,948 | 16% |
| Alaska | $50,105 | $52,285 | $4,175 | $1,927 | 16.9% |
| Washington | $49,810 | $51,990 | $4,151 | $1,916 | 17.4% |
| Ohio | $49,771 | $52,017 | $4,148 | $1,914 | 17.5% |
| Arizona | $49,542 | $52,124 | $4,128 | $1,905 | 17.9% |
| South Carolina | $49,252 | $52,213 | $4,104 | $1,894 | 18.3% |
| Louisiana | $49,224 | $51,790 | $4,102 | $1,893 | 18.4% |
| Iowa | $49,007 | $51,839 | $4,084 | $1,885 | 18.8% |
| Vermont | $48,994 | $51,608 | $4,083 | $1,884 | 18.8% |
| New Mexico | $48,978 | $52,029 | $4,081 | $1,884 | 18.8% |
| Mississippi | $48,966 | $51,478 | $4,081 | $1,883 | 18.8% |
| Arkansas | $48,903 | $51,203 | $4,075 | $1,881 | 18.9% |
| Indiana | $48,897 | $51,107 | $4,075 | $1,881 | 18.9% |
| Nebraska | $48,782 | $51,770 | $4,065 | $1,876 | 19.1% |
| Wisconsin | $48,774 | $51,553 | $4,065 | $1,876 | 19.1% |
| West Virginia | $48,768 | $51,032 | $4,064 | $1,876 | 19.2% |
| Missouri | $48,749 | $51,686 | $4,062 | $1,875 | 19.2% |
| North Carolina | $48,749 | $51,438 | $4,062 | $1,875 | 19.2% |
| Pennsylvania | $48,711 | $50,891 | $4,059 | $1,873 | 19.2% |
| Kentucky | $48,654 | $50,834 | $4,054 | $1,871 | 19.3% |
| Montana | $48,569 | $51,505 | $4,047 | $1,868 | 19.5% |
| Idaho | $48,558 | $51,847 | $4,047 | $1,868 | 19.5% |
| Connecticut | $48,556 | $51,391 | $4,046 | $1,868 | 19.5% |
| Oklahoma | $48,478 | $51,204 | $4,040 | $1,865 | 19.6% |
| Colorado | $48,436 | $51,324 | $4,036 | $1,863 | 19.7% |
| Georgia | $48,386 | $51,314 | $4,032 | $1,861 | 19.8% |
| Utah | $48,381 | $51,764 | $4,032 | $1,861 | 19.8% |
| Rhode Island | $48,338 | $51,135 | $4,028 | $1,859 | 19.9% |
| Michigan | $48,334 | $50,765 | $4,028 | $1,859 | 19.9% |
| New Jersey | $48,227 | $51,184 | $4,019 | $1,855 | 20% |
| California | $48,204 | $51,592 | $4,017 | $1,854 | 20.1% |
| District of Columbia | $48,173 | $51,340 | $4,014 | $1,853 | 20.1% |
| Maryland | $48,146 | $50,637 | $4,012 | $1,852 | 20.2% |
| Kansas | $48,081 | $51,072 | $4,007 | $1,849 | 20.3% |
| Virginia | $47,993 | $50,729 | $3,999 | $1,846 | 20.4% |
| Alabama | $47,896 | $50,466 | $3,991 | $1,842 | 20.6% |
| Illinois | $47,806 | $50,131 | $3,984 | $1,839 | 20.7% |
| Minnesota | $47,803 | $50,972 | $3,984 | $1,839 | 20.8% |
| Delaware | $47,735 | $50,205 | $3,978 | $1,836 | 20.9% |
| New York | $47,695 | $50,477 | $3,975 | $1,834 | 20.9% |
| Massachusetts | $47,574 | $49,974 | $3,964 | $1,830 | 21.1% |
| Hawaii | $47,565 | $51,189 | $3,964 | $1,829 | 21.1% |
| Maine | $47,456 | $50,610 | $3,955 | $1,825 | 21.3% |
| Oregon | $45,777 | $48,786 | $3,815 | $1,761 | 24.1% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $60,320 include carpenters ($60,580), hvac mechanics and installers ($61,010), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers ($58,640), paralegals and legal assistants ($62,890), electricians ($63,190).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $60,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $29 an hour is how much a year?
- $60,320 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $45,240.
- How much is $29 an hour after taxes?
- Between $45,777 in Oregon and $50,647 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $48,711, or $1,873 every two weeks.
- How much is $29 an hour per month?
- $5,027 a month before taxes, and roughly $4,059 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $29 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $29 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.