Minimum wage by state
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour, but 31 states and DC set a higher floor. Where state and federal rates differ, workers get the higher one.
Last verified November 2, 2026. Sources: dol.gov.
| State | Minimum wage | Tipped cash wage | Full-time yearly | Next change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Alaska | $14.00 | — | $29,120 | $15.00 on July 1, 2027 |
| Arizona | $15.15 | $12.15 | $31,512 | $15.65 on January 1, 2027 |
| Arkansas | $11.00 | $2.63 | $22,880 | None scheduled |
| California | $16.90 | — | $35,152 | $17.40 on January 1, 2027 |
| Colorado | $15.16 | $12.14 | $31,533 | $15.71 on January 1, 2027 |
| Connecticut | $16.94 | $6.38 | $35,235 | $17.48 on January 1, 2027 |
| Delaware | $15.00 | $2.23 | $31,200 | None scheduled |
| District of Columbia | $18.40 | $10.30 | $38,272 | None scheduled |
| Florida | $15.00 | $11.98 | $31,200 | None scheduled |
| Georgia | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Hawaii | $16.00 | $14.75 | $33,280 | $18.00 on January 1, 2028 |
| Idaho | $7.25 | $3.35 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Illinois | $15.00 | $9.00 | $31,200 | None scheduled |
| Indiana | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Iowa | $7.25 | $4.35 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Kansas | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Kentucky | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Louisiana | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Maine | $15.10 | $7.55 | $31,408 | $15.70 on January 1, 2027 |
| Maryland | $15.00 | $3.63 | $31,200 | None scheduled |
| Massachusetts | $15.00 | $6.75 | $31,200 | None scheduled |
| Michigan | $13.73 | $5.49 | $28,558 | $15.00 on January 1, 2027 |
| Minnesota | $11.41 | — | $23,733 | $11.87 on January 1, 2027 |
| Mississippi | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Missouri | $15.00 | $7.50 | $31,200 | None scheduled |
| Montana | $10.85 | — | $22,568 | $11.20 on January 1, 2027 |
| Nebraska | $15.00 | $2.13 | $31,200 | $15.26 on January 1, 2027 |
| Nevada | $12.00 | — | $24,960 | None scheduled |
| New Hampshire | $7.25 | $3.27 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| New Jersey | $15.92 | $6.05 | $33,114 | $16.48 on January 1, 2027 |
| New Mexico | $12.00 | $3.00 | $24,960 | None scheduled |
| New York | $16.00 | $10.70 | $33,280 | None scheduled |
| North Carolina | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| North Dakota | $7.25 | $4.86 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Ohio | $11.00 | $5.50 | $22,880 | $11.40 on January 1, 2027 |
| Oklahoma | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Oregon | $15.55 | — | $32,344 | None scheduled |
| Pennsylvania | $7.25 | $2.83 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Rhode Island | $16.00 | $3.89 | $33,280 | $17.00 on January 1, 2027 |
| South Carolina | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| South Dakota | $11.85 | $5.93 | $24,648 | $12.30 on January 1, 2027 |
| Tennessee | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Texas | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Utah | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Vermont | $14.42 | $7.21 | $29,994 | None scheduled |
| Virginia | $12.77 | $2.13 | $26,562 | $13.75 on January 1, 2027 |
| Washington | $17.13 | — | $35,630 | $17.73 on January 1, 2027 |
| West Virginia | $8.75 | $2.62 | $18,200 | None scheduled |
| Wisconsin | $7.25 | $2.33 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
| Wyoming | $7.25 | $2.13 | $15,080 | None scheduled |
How minimum wage works across states
The Fair Labor Standards Act sets a national floor of $7.25 an hour, unchanged since 2009. States can set a higher rate, and many cities and counties go higher still. An employer must pay whichever applicable rate is highest for the place the work is done.
Many states adjust their rate every January for inflation, so the numbers above change at least once a year. Some states also set different rates by employer size, region or industry, which each state page explains.
Tipped workers can be paid a lower cash wage in most states as long as tips bring them up to the full minimum. California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and Alaska do not allow a tip credit.