$31 an hour is how much a year?
At $31 an hour, a full-time worker earns $64,480 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $51,896 in a typical state, from $48,726 in Oregon to $53,990 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$31 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $64,480 | $5,373 | $2,480 | $1,240 |
| 30 hours a week | $48,360 | $4,030 | $1,860 | $930 |
| 20 hours a week | $32,240 | $2,687 | $1,240 | $620 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $46.50 under federal law.
$31 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| Nevada | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| New Hampshire | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| North Dakota | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| South Dakota | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| Tennessee | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| Texas | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| Wyoming | $53,990 | $56,170 | $4,499 | $2,077 | 16.3% |
| Alaska | $53,448 | $55,628 | $4,454 | $2,056 | 17.1% |
| Washington | $53,095 | $55,275 | $4,425 | $2,042 | 17.7% |
| Ohio | $52,999 | $55,245 | $4,417 | $2,038 | 17.8% |
| Arizona | $52,780 | $55,363 | $4,398 | $2,030 | 18.1% |
| Louisiana | $52,442 | $55,008 | $4,370 | $2,017 | 18.7% |
| South Carolina | $52,378 | $55,339 | $4,365 | $2,015 | 18.8% |
| Iowa | $52,191 | $55,023 | $4,349 | $2,007 | 19.1% |
| Mississippi | $52,142 | $54,654 | $4,345 | $2,005 | 19.1% |
| New Mexico | $52,125 | $55,193 | $4,344 | $2,005 | 19.2% |
| Vermont | $52,123 | $54,806 | $4,344 | $2,005 | 19.2% |
| Indiana | $52,117 | $54,327 | $4,343 | $2,005 | 19.2% |
| Arkansas | $52,092 | $54,392 | $4,341 | $2,004 | 19.2% |
| Nebraska | $51,935 | $54,966 | $4,328 | $1,998 | 19.5% |
| Wisconsin | $51,934 | $54,712 | $4,328 | $1,997 | 19.5% |
| North Carolina | $51,926 | $54,614 | $4,327 | $1,997 | 19.5% |
| West Virginia | $51,926 | $54,197 | $4,327 | $1,997 | 19.5% |
| Pennsylvania | $51,920 | $54,100 | $4,327 | $1,997 | 19.5% |
| Missouri | $51,896 | $54,833 | $4,325 | $1,996 | 19.5% |
| Kentucky | $51,850 | $54,030 | $4,321 | $1,994 | 19.6% |
| Montana | $51,707 | $54,653 | $4,309 | $1,989 | 19.8% |
| Connecticut | $51,691 | $54,526 | $4,308 | $1,988 | 19.8% |
| Idaho | $51,681 | $54,969 | $4,307 | $1,988 | 19.9% |
| Oklahoma | $51,634 | $54,359 | $4,303 | $1,986 | 19.9% |
| Colorado | $51,577 | $54,466 | $4,298 | $1,984 | 20% |
| Georgia | $51,521 | $54,449 | $4,293 | $1,982 | 20.1% |
| Michigan | $51,500 | $53,931 | $4,292 | $1,981 | 20.1% |
| Utah | $51,485 | $54,868 | $4,290 | $1,980 | 20.2% |
| Rhode Island | $51,479 | $54,276 | $4,290 | $1,980 | 20.2% |
| New Jersey | $51,322 | $54,407 | $4,277 | $1,974 | 20.4% |
| Maryland | $51,291 | $53,782 | $4,274 | $1,973 | 20.5% |
| District of Columbia | $51,245 | $54,433 | $4,270 | $1,971 | 20.5% |
| California | $51,218 | $54,787 | $4,268 | $1,970 | 20.6% |
| Kansas | $51,191 | $54,198 | $4,266 | $1,969 | 20.6% |
| Virginia | $51,096 | $53,833 | $4,258 | $1,965 | 20.8% |
| Alabama | $51,031 | $53,601 | $4,253 | $1,963 | 20.9% |
| Illinois | $50,943 | $53,267 | $4,245 | $1,959 | 21% |
| Minnesota | $50,845 | $54,073 | $4,237 | $1,956 | 21.1% |
| Delaware | $50,817 | $53,300 | $4,235 | $1,955 | 21.2% |
| New York | $50,795 | $53,577 | $4,233 | $1,954 | 21.2% |
| Massachusetts | $50,689 | $53,089 | $4,224 | $1,950 | 21.4% |
| Hawaii | $50,571 | $54,245 | $4,214 | $1,945 | 21.6% |
| Maine | $50,497 | $53,691 | $4,208 | $1,942 | 21.7% |
| Oregon | $48,726 | $51,736 | $4,060 | $1,874 | 24.4% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $64,480 include licensed practical and vocational nurses ($64,400), elementary school teachers ($63,970), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters ($63,800), electricians ($63,190), paralegals and legal assistants ($62,890).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $65,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $31 an hour is how much a year?
- $64,480 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $48,360.
- How much is $31 an hour after taxes?
- Between $48,726 in Oregon and $53,990 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $51,896, or $1,996 every two weeks.
- How much is $31 an hour per month?
- $5,373 a month before taxes, and roughly $4,325 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $31 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $31 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.