$32 an hour is how much a year?
At $32 an hour, a full-time worker earns $66,560 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $53,464 in a typical state, from $50,195 in Oregon to $55,655 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$32 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $66,560 | $5,547 | $2,560 | $1,280 |
| 30 hours a week | $49,920 | $4,160 | $1,920 | $960 |
| 20 hours a week | $33,280 | $2,773 | $1,280 | $640 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $48.00 under federal law.
$32 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| Nevada | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| New Hampshire | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| South Dakota | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| Tennessee | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| Texas | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| Wyoming | $55,655 | $57,841 | $4,638 | $2,141 | 16.4% |
| North Dakota | $55,616 | $57,841 | $4,635 | $2,139 | 16.4% |
| Alaska | $55,113 | $57,299 | $4,593 | $2,120 | 17.2% |
| Washington | $54,732 | $56,918 | $4,561 | $2,105 | 17.8% |
| Ohio | $54,607 | $56,859 | $4,551 | $2,100 | 18% |
| Arizona | $54,393 | $56,982 | $4,533 | $2,092 | 18.3% |
| Louisiana | $54,044 | $56,617 | $4,504 | $2,079 | 18.8% |
| South Carolina | $53,935 | $56,902 | $4,495 | $2,074 | 19% |
| Iowa | $53,777 | $56,615 | $4,481 | $2,068 | 19.2% |
| Mississippi | $53,725 | $56,243 | $4,477 | $2,066 | 19.3% |
| Indiana | $53,721 | $55,936 | $4,477 | $2,066 | 19.3% |
| New Mexico | $53,692 | $56,774 | $4,474 | $2,065 | 19.3% |
| Arkansas | $53,680 | $55,986 | $4,473 | $2,065 | 19.4% |
| Vermont | $53,649 | $56,406 | $4,471 | $2,063 | 19.4% |
| Pennsylvania | $53,518 | $55,704 | $4,460 | $2,058 | 19.6% |
| North Carolina | $53,508 | $56,203 | $4,459 | $2,058 | 19.6% |
| Wisconsin | $53,507 | $56,292 | $4,459 | $2,058 | 19.6% |
| Nebraska | $53,506 | $56,565 | $4,459 | $2,058 | 19.6% |
| West Virginia | $53,496 | $55,773 | $4,458 | $2,058 | 19.6% |
| Missouri | $53,464 | $56,407 | $4,455 | $2,056 | 19.7% |
| Kentucky | $53,443 | $55,629 | $4,454 | $2,055 | 19.7% |
| Montana | $53,255 | $56,226 | $4,438 | $2,048 | 20% |
| Connecticut | $53,236 | $56,093 | $4,436 | $2,048 | 20% |
| Idaho | $53,236 | $56,530 | $4,436 | $2,048 | 20% |
| Oklahoma | $53,205 | $55,937 | $4,434 | $2,046 | 20.1% |
| Colorado | $53,142 | $56,036 | $4,428 | $2,044 | 20.2% |
| Georgia | $53,082 | $56,017 | $4,424 | $2,042 | 20.2% |
| Michigan | $53,077 | $55,514 | $4,423 | $2,041 | 20.3% |
| Rhode Island | $53,044 | $55,847 | $4,420 | $2,040 | 20.3% |
| Utah | $53,031 | $56,419 | $4,419 | $2,040 | 20.3% |
| New Jersey | $52,864 | $56,019 | $4,405 | $2,033 | 20.6% |
| Maryland | $52,857 | $55,354 | $4,405 | $2,033 | 20.6% |
| District of Columbia | $52,775 | $55,979 | $4,398 | $2,030 | 20.7% |
| Kansas | $52,741 | $55,761 | $4,395 | $2,028 | 20.8% |
| California | $52,690 | $56,348 | $4,391 | $2,027 | 20.8% |
| Virginia | $52,642 | $55,384 | $4,387 | $2,025 | 20.9% |
| Alabama | $52,592 | $55,168 | $4,383 | $2,023 | 21% |
| Illinois | $52,505 | $54,836 | $4,375 | $2,019 | 21.1% |
| Minnesota | $52,359 | $55,624 | $4,363 | $2,014 | 21.3% |
| New York | $52,339 | $55,127 | $4,362 | $2,013 | 21.4% |
| Delaware | $52,337 | $54,847 | $4,361 | $2,013 | 21.4% |
| Massachusetts | $52,241 | $54,647 | $4,353 | $2,009 | 21.5% |
| Hawaii | $52,067 | $55,771 | $4,339 | $2,003 | 21.8% |
| Maine | $52,011 | $55,231 | $4,334 | $2,000 | 21.9% |
| Oregon | $50,195 | $53,210 | $4,183 | $1,931 | 24.6% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $66,560 include licensed practical and vocational nurses ($64,400), elementary school teachers ($63,970), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters ($63,800), electricians ($63,190), paralegals and legal assistants ($62,890).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $65,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $32 an hour is how much a year?
- $66,560 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $49,920.
- How much is $32 an hour after taxes?
- Between $50,195 in Oregon and $55,655 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $53,464, or $2,056 every two weeks.
- How much is $32 an hour per month?
- $5,547 a month before taxes, and roughly $4,455 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $32 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $32 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.