Wagevane

$34 an hour is how much a year?

At $34 an hour, a full-time worker earns $70,720 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $56,214 in a typical state, from $52,728 in Oregon to $58,582 in Florida.

Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.

$34 an hour by pay period

ScheduleYearlyMonthlyEvery 2 weeksWeekly
40 hours a week$70,720$5,893$2,720$1,360
30 hours a week$53,040$4,420$2,040$1,020
20 hours a week$35,360$2,947$1,360$680

Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $51.00 under federal law.

$34 an hour after taxes in every state

StateTake-home (single)Take-home (married)Per monthEvery 2 weeksTax rate
Florida$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
Nevada$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
New Hampshire$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
South Dakota$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
Tennessee$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
Texas$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
Wyoming$58,582$61,184$4,882$2,25317.2%
North Dakota$58,462$61,184$4,872$2,24917.3%
Alaska$58,040$60,642$4,837$2,23217.9%
Washington$57,600$60,202$4,800$2,21518.6%
Ohio$57,419$60,087$4,785$2,20818.8%
Arizona$57,216$60,221$4,768$2,20119.1%
Louisiana$56,846$59,834$4,737$2,18619.6%
South Carolina$56,645$60,028$4,720$2,17919.9%
Iowa$56,546$59,800$4,712$2,17520%
Indiana$56,525$59,156$4,710$2,17420.1%
Mississippi$56,485$59,419$4,707$2,17220.1%
Arkansas$56,452$59,175$4,704$2,17120.2%
New Mexico$56,423$59,938$4,702$2,17020.2%
Pennsylvania$56,311$58,913$4,693$2,16620.4%
Vermont$56,296$59,604$4,691$2,16520.4%
North Carolina$56,269$59,379$4,689$2,16420.4%
Nebraska$56,243$59,725$4,687$2,16320.5%
West Virginia$56,232$58,925$4,686$2,16320.5%
Kentucky$56,224$58,826$4,685$2,16220.5%
Wisconsin$56,214$59,452$4,684$2,16220.5%
Missouri$56,195$59,554$4,683$2,16120.5%
Montana$55,947$59,373$4,662$2,15220.9%
Oklahoma$55,945$59,092$4,662$2,15220.9%
Idaho$55,942$59,652$4,662$2,15220.9%
Connecticut$55,913$59,228$4,659$2,15120.9%
Colorado$55,867$59,177$4,656$2,14921%
Michigan$55,827$58,679$4,652$2,14721.1%
Georgia$55,801$59,152$4,650$2,14621.1%
Rhode Island$55,768$58,987$4,647$2,14521.1%
Utah$55,718$59,523$4,643$2,14321.2%
Maryland$55,586$58,499$4,632$2,13821.4%
New Jersey$55,543$59,242$4,629$2,13621.5%
Kansas$55,435$58,887$4,620$2,13221.6%
District of Columbia$55,431$59,072$4,619$2,13221.6%
Virginia$55,329$58,488$4,611$2,12821.8%
Alabama$55,311$58,303$4,609$2,12721.8%
California$55,230$59,470$4,602$2,12421.9%
Illinois$55,226$57,972$4,602$2,12421.9%
New York$55,023$58,227$4,585$2,11622.2%
Minnesota$54,985$58,726$4,582$2,11522.3%
Delaware$54,972$57,899$4,581$2,11422.3%
Massachusetts$54,940$57,762$4,578$2,11322.3%
Hawaii$54,657$58,810$4,555$2,10222.7%
Maine$54,636$58,312$4,553$2,10122.7%
Oregon$52,728$56,160$4,394$2,02825.4%

Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.

Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $70,720 include human resources specialists ($75,940), police and sheriff's patrol officers ($76,210).

To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $70,000 a year after taxes.

Frequently asked questions

$34 an hour is how much a year?
$70,720 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $53,040.
How much is $34 an hour after taxes?
Between $52,728 in Oregon and $58,582 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $56,214, or $2,162 every two weeks.
How much is $34 an hour per month?
$5,893 a month before taxes, and roughly $4,684 after taxes in a typical state.
Is $34 an hour above the minimum wage?
Yes. $34 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.