$26 an hour is how much a year?
At $26 an hour, a full-time worker earns $54,080 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $43,897 in a typical state, from $41,352 in Oregon to $45,633 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$26 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $54,080 | $4,507 | $2,080 | $1,040 |
| 30 hours a week | $40,560 | $3,380 | $1,560 | $780 |
| 20 hours a week | $27,040 | $2,253 | $1,040 | $520 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $39.00 under federal law.
$26 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| Nevada | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| New Hampshire | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| North Dakota | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| South Dakota | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| Tennessee | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| Texas | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| Wyoming | $45,633 | $47,755 | $3,803 | $1,755 | 15.6% |
| Alaska | $45,092 | $47,214 | $3,758 | $1,734 | 16.6% |
| Ohio | $44,928 | $47,116 | $3,744 | $1,728 | 16.9% |
| Washington | $44,883 | $47,005 | $3,740 | $1,726 | 17% |
| Arizona | $44,684 | $47,208 | $3,724 | $1,719 | 17.4% |
| South Carolina | $44,563 | $47,276 | $3,714 | $1,714 | 17.6% |
| Louisiana | $44,397 | $46,905 | $3,700 | $1,708 | 17.9% |
| New Mexico | $44,257 | $47,191 | $3,688 | $1,702 | 18.2% |
| Iowa | $44,230 | $47,003 | $3,686 | $1,701 | 18.2% |
| Mississippi | $44,202 | $46,656 | $3,684 | $1,700 | 18.3% |
| Vermont | $44,196 | $46,751 | $3,683 | $1,700 | 18.3% |
| Arkansas | $44,120 | $46,362 | $3,677 | $1,697 | 18.4% |
| Indiana | $44,067 | $46,219 | $3,672 | $1,695 | 18.5% |
| Nebraska | $44,052 | $46,917 | $3,671 | $1,694 | 18.5% |
| Wisconsin | $44,035 | $46,755 | $3,670 | $1,694 | 18.6% |
| Missouri | $44,029 | $46,907 | $3,669 | $1,693 | 18.6% |
| West Virginia | $44,017 | $46,223 | $3,668 | $1,693 | 18.6% |
| North Carolina | $43,984 | $46,615 | $3,665 | $1,692 | 18.7% |
| Pennsylvania | $43,897 | $46,019 | $3,658 | $1,688 | 18.8% |
| Idaho | $43,875 | $47,105 | $3,656 | $1,688 | 18.9% |
| Kentucky | $43,858 | $45,980 | $3,655 | $1,687 | 18.9% |
| Connecticut | $43,854 | $46,631 | $3,655 | $1,687 | 18.9% |
| Montana | $43,848 | $46,727 | $3,654 | $1,686 | 18.9% |
| Oklahoma | $43,745 | $46,412 | $3,645 | $1,683 | 19.1% |
| Utah | $43,726 | $47,051 | $3,644 | $1,682 | 19.1% |
| Colorado | $43,724 | $46,554 | $3,644 | $1,682 | 19.1% |
| Georgia | $43,683 | $46,553 | $3,640 | $1,680 | 19.2% |
| California | $43,646 | $46,726 | $3,637 | $1,679 | 19.3% |
| Rhode Island | $43,627 | $46,366 | $3,636 | $1,678 | 19.3% |
| Michigan | $43,586 | $45,958 | $3,632 | $1,676 | 19.4% |
| New Jersey | $43,585 | $46,291 | $3,632 | $1,676 | 19.4% |
| District of Columbia | $43,554 | $46,642 | $3,630 | $1,675 | 19.5% |
| Maryland | $43,428 | $45,861 | $3,619 | $1,670 | 19.7% |
| Kansas | $43,415 | $46,324 | $3,618 | $1,670 | 19.7% |
| Virginia | $43,338 | $46,016 | $3,611 | $1,667 | 19.9% |
| Minnesota | $43,241 | $46,261 | $3,603 | $1,663 | 20% |
| Alabama | $43,194 | $45,706 | $3,600 | $1,661 | 20.1% |
| Illinois | $43,101 | $45,367 | $3,592 | $1,658 | 20.3% |
| Delaware | $43,092 | $45,504 | $3,591 | $1,657 | 20.3% |
| New York | $43,045 | $45,769 | $3,587 | $1,656 | 20.4% |
| Hawaii | $43,044 | $46,524 | $3,587 | $1,656 | 20.4% |
| Massachusetts | $42,901 | $45,242 | $3,575 | $1,650 | 20.7% |
| Maine | $42,894 | $45,931 | $3,575 | $1,650 | 20.7% |
| Oregon | $41,352 | $44,304 | $3,446 | $1,590 | 23.5% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $54,080 include bookkeeping and accounting clerks ($50,670), automotive technicians and mechanics ($50,620), heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers ($58,640).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $55,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $26 an hour is how much a year?
- $54,080 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $40,560.
- How much is $26 an hour after taxes?
- Between $41,352 in Oregon and $45,633 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $43,897, or $1,688 every two weeks.
- How much is $26 an hour per month?
- $4,507 a month before taxes, and roughly $3,658 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $26 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $26 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.