$18 an hour is how much a year?
At $18 an hour, a full-time worker earns $37,440 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $31,301 in a typical state, from $29,555 in Oregon to $32,263 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$18 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $37,440 | $3,120 | $1,440 | $720 |
| 30 hours a week | $28,080 | $2,340 | $1,080 | $540 |
| 20 hours a week | $18,720 | $1,560 | $720 | $360 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $27.00 under federal law.
$18 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| Nevada | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| New Hampshire | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| North Dakota | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| South Dakota | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| Tennessee | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| Texas | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| Wyoming | $32,263 | $34,052 | $2,689 | $1,241 | 13.8% |
| Ohio | $32,016 | $33,871 | $2,668 | $1,231 | 14.5% |
| Alaska | $31,889 | $33,677 | $2,657 | $1,226 | 14.8% |
| South Carolina | $31,816 | $33,904 | $2,651 | $1,224 | 15% |
| Washington | $31,744 | $33,532 | $2,645 | $1,221 | 15.2% |
| Arizona | $31,730 | $33,921 | $2,644 | $1,220 | 15.3% |
| New Mexico | $31,620 | $33,973 | $2,635 | $1,216 | 15.5% |
| Louisiana | $31,526 | $33,701 | $2,627 | $1,213 | 15.8% |
| Mississippi | $31,497 | $33,618 | $2,625 | $1,211 | 15.9% |
| Iowa | $31,492 | $33,933 | $2,624 | $1,211 | 15.9% |
| Missouri | $31,441 | $33,955 | $2,620 | $1,209 | 16% |
| Nebraska | $31,439 | $33,798 | $2,620 | $1,209 | 16% |
| Vermont | $31,401 | $33,624 | $2,617 | $1,208 | 16.1% |
| Wisconsin | $31,397 | $33,695 | $2,616 | $1,208 | 16.1% |
| Idaho | $31,387 | $34,052 | $2,616 | $1,207 | 16.2% |
| Arkansas | $31,365 | $33,275 | $2,614 | $1,206 | 16.2% |
| Connecticut | $31,316 | $33,596 | $2,610 | $1,204 | 16.4% |
| Utah | $31,313 | $34,052 | $2,609 | $1,204 | 16.4% |
| West Virginia | $31,301 | $33,153 | $2,608 | $1,204 | 16.4% |
| California | $31,296 | $33,565 | $2,608 | $1,204 | 16.4% |
| North Carolina | $31,278 | $33,575 | $2,606 | $1,203 | 16.5% |
| Montana | $31,260 | $33,806 | $2,605 | $1,202 | 16.5% |
| New Jersey | $31,195 | $33,026 | $2,600 | $1,200 | 16.7% |
| Indiana | $31,188 | $33,006 | $2,599 | $1,200 | 16.7% |
| District of Columbia | $31,183 | $33,842 | $2,599 | $1,199 | 16.7% |
| Colorado | $31,159 | $33,657 | $2,597 | $1,198 | 16.8% |
| Georgia | $31,143 | $33,681 | $2,595 | $1,198 | 16.8% |
| Oklahoma | $31,124 | $33,458 | $2,594 | $1,197 | 16.9% |
| Kentucky | $31,070 | $32,859 | $2,589 | $1,195 | 17% |
| Rhode Island | $31,064 | $33,470 | $2,589 | $1,195 | 17% |
| Pennsylvania | $31,061 | $32,850 | $2,588 | $1,195 | 17% |
| Kansas | $30,974 | $33,486 | $2,581 | $1,191 | 17.3% |
| Hawaii | $30,925 | $33,597 | $2,577 | $1,189 | 17.4% |
| Virginia | $30,924 | $33,270 | $2,577 | $1,189 | 17.4% |
| Michigan | $30,923 | $32,962 | $2,577 | $1,189 | 17.4% |
| Minnesota | $30,914 | $33,521 | $2,576 | $1,189 | 17.4% |
| Maryland | $30,848 | $32,948 | $2,571 | $1,186 | 17.6% |
| Delaware | $30,712 | $32,791 | $2,559 | $1,181 | 18% |
| Maine | $30,696 | $33,277 | $2,558 | $1,181 | 18% |
| Alabama | $30,656 | $32,835 | $2,555 | $1,179 | 18.1% |
| New York | $30,645 | $33,003 | $2,554 | $1,179 | 18.1% |
| Illinois | $30,555 | $32,488 | $2,546 | $1,175 | 18.4% |
| Massachusetts | $30,439 | $32,448 | $2,537 | $1,171 | 18.7% |
| Oregon | $29,555 | $32,173 | $2,463 | $1,137 | 21.1% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $37,440 include restaurant cooks ($37,390), retail salespersons ($35,410), waiters and waitresses ($35,230), laborers and material movers ($40,240), cashiers ($32,880).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $35,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $18 an hour is how much a year?
- $37,440 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $28,080.
- How much is $18 an hour after taxes?
- Between $29,555 in Oregon and $32,263 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $31,301, or $1,204 every two weeks.
- How much is $18 an hour per month?
- $3,120 a month before taxes, and roughly $2,608 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $18 an hour above the minimum wage?
- $18 meets the statewide minimum in 50 of 51 states and DC. See minimum wage by state.