Wagevane

$19 an hour is how much a year?

At $19 an hour, a full-time worker earns $39,520 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $32,866 in a typical state, from $31,029 in Oregon to $33,934 in Florida.

Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.

$19 an hour by pay period

ScheduleYearlyMonthlyEvery 2 weeksWeekly
40 hours a week$39,520$3,293$1,520$760
30 hours a week$29,640$2,470$1,140$570
20 hours a week$19,760$1,647$760$380

Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $28.50 under federal law.

$19 an hour after taxes in every state

StateTake-home (single)Take-home (married)Per monthEvery 2 weeksTax rate
Florida$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
Nevada$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
New Hampshire$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
North Dakota$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
South Dakota$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
Tennessee$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
Texas$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
Wyoming$33,934$35,765$2,828$1,30514.1%
Ohio$33,630$35,526$2,802$1,29314.9%
Alaska$33,539$35,370$2,795$1,29015.1%
South Carolina$33,446$35,575$2,787$1,28615.4%
Washington$33,386$35,216$2,782$1,28415.5%
Arizona$33,349$35,582$2,779$1,28315.6%
New Mexico$33,202$35,655$2,767$1,27716%
Louisiana$33,135$35,352$2,761$1,27416.2%
Mississippi$33,086$35,248$2,757$1,27316.3%
Iowa$33,084$35,567$2,757$1,27216.3%
Nebraska$33,016$35,437$2,751$1,27016.5%
Missouri$33,014$35,593$2,751$1,27016.5%
Vermont$33,001$35,265$2,750$1,26916.5%
Wisconsin$32,976$35,335$2,748$1,26816.6%
Arkansas$32,960$34,910$2,747$1,26816.6%
Idaho$32,948$35,765$2,746$1,26716.6%
West Virginia$32,906$34,800$2,742$1,26616.7%
Connecticut$32,883$35,257$2,740$1,26516.8%
North Carolina$32,866$35,205$2,739$1,26416.8%
Utah$32,865$35,765$2,739$1,26416.8%
California$32,857$35,216$2,738$1,26416.9%
Montana$32,834$35,421$2,736$1,26316.9%
Indiana$32,798$34,658$2,733$1,26117%
New Jersey$32,767$34,676$2,731$1,26017.1%
Colorado$32,730$35,269$2,727$1,25917.2%
District of Columbia$32,729$35,472$2,727$1,25917.2%
Georgia$32,711$35,290$2,726$1,25817.2%
Oklahoma$32,701$35,077$2,725$1,25817.3%
Kentucky$32,669$34,499$2,722$1,25617.3%
Pennsylvania$32,666$34,496$2,722$1,25617.3%
Rhode Island$32,634$35,082$2,720$1,25517.4%
Kansas$32,529$35,091$2,711$1,25117.7%
Michigan$32,505$34,587$2,709$1,25017.7%
Virginia$32,476$34,863$2,706$1,24917.8%
Minnesota$32,465$35,114$2,705$1,24917.9%
Hawaii$32,444$35,233$2,704$1,24817.9%
Maryland$32,421$34,562$2,702$1,24718%
Delaware$32,260$34,381$2,688$1,24118.4%
Maine$32,236$34,858$2,686$1,24018.4%
Alabama$32,223$34,444$2,685$1,23918.5%
New York$32,195$34,616$2,683$1,23818.5%
Illinois$32,123$34,098$2,677$1,23518.7%
Massachusetts$31,997$34,047$2,666$1,23119%
Oregon$31,029$33,689$2,586$1,19321.5%

Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.

Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $39,520 include laborers and material movers ($40,240), restaurant cooks ($37,390), nursing assistants ($42,260), retail salespersons ($35,410), waiters and waitresses ($35,230).

To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $40,000 a year after taxes.

Frequently asked questions

$19 an hour is how much a year?
$39,520 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $29,640.
How much is $19 an hour after taxes?
Between $31,029 in Oregon and $33,934 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $32,866, or $1,264 every two weeks.
How much is $19 an hour per month?
$3,293 a month before taxes, and roughly $2,739 after taxes in a typical state.
Is $19 an hour above the minimum wage?
Yes. $19 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.