$20 an hour is how much a year?
At $20 an hour, a full-time worker earns $41,600 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $34,451 in a typical state, from $32,504 in Oregon to $35,606 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$20 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $41,600 | $3,467 | $1,600 | $800 |
| 30 hours a week | $31,200 | $2,600 | $1,200 | $600 |
| 20 hours a week | $20,800 | $1,733 | $800 | $400 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $30.00 under federal law.
$20 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| Nevada | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| New Hampshire | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| North Dakota | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| South Dakota | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| Tennessee | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| Texas | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| Wyoming | $35,606 | $37,478 | $2,967 | $1,369 | 14.4% |
| Ohio | $35,244 | $37,182 | $2,937 | $1,356 | 15.3% |
| Alaska | $35,190 | $37,062 | $2,932 | $1,353 | 15.4% |
| South Carolina | $35,076 | $37,247 | $2,923 | $1,349 | 15.7% |
| Washington | $35,029 | $36,901 | $2,919 | $1,347 | 15.8% |
| Arizona | $34,968 | $37,243 | $2,914 | $1,345 | 15.9% |
| New Mexico | $34,784 | $37,313 | $2,899 | $1,338 | 16.4% |
| Louisiana | $34,744 | $37,002 | $2,895 | $1,336 | 16.5% |
| Iowa | $34,677 | $37,200 | $2,890 | $1,334 | 16.6% |
| Mississippi | $34,674 | $36,878 | $2,889 | $1,334 | 16.7% |
| Vermont | $34,600 | $36,906 | $2,883 | $1,331 | 16.8% |
| Nebraska | $34,592 | $37,077 | $2,883 | $1,330 | 16.8% |
| Missouri | $34,588 | $37,216 | $2,882 | $1,330 | 16.9% |
| Wisconsin | $34,556 | $36,975 | $2,880 | $1,329 | 16.9% |
| Arkansas | $34,554 | $36,546 | $2,879 | $1,329 | 16.9% |
| West Virginia | $34,512 | $36,447 | $2,876 | $1,327 | 17% |
| Idaho | $34,509 | $37,478 | $2,876 | $1,327 | 17% |
| North Carolina | $34,454 | $36,835 | $2,871 | $1,325 | 17.2% |
| Connecticut | $34,451 | $36,918 | $2,871 | $1,325 | 17.2% |
| California | $34,418 | $36,861 | $2,868 | $1,324 | 17.3% |
| Utah | $34,416 | $37,478 | $2,868 | $1,324 | 17.3% |
| Indiana | $34,408 | $36,309 | $2,867 | $1,323 | 17.3% |
| Montana | $34,407 | $37,036 | $2,867 | $1,323 | 17.3% |
| New Jersey | $34,327 | $36,326 | $2,861 | $1,320 | 17.5% |
| Colorado | $34,301 | $36,881 | $2,858 | $1,319 | 17.5% |
| Oklahoma | $34,279 | $36,697 | $2,857 | $1,318 | 17.6% |
| Georgia | $34,278 | $36,899 | $2,857 | $1,318 | 17.6% |
| District of Columbia | $34,276 | $37,102 | $2,856 | $1,318 | 17.6% |
| Pennsylvania | $34,270 | $36,142 | $2,856 | $1,318 | 17.6% |
| Kentucky | $34,267 | $36,139 | $2,856 | $1,318 | 17.6% |
| Rhode Island | $34,205 | $36,694 | $2,850 | $1,316 | 17.8% |
| Michigan | $34,088 | $36,211 | $2,841 | $1,311 | 18.1% |
| Kansas | $34,084 | $36,696 | $2,840 | $1,311 | 18.1% |
| Virginia | $34,028 | $36,456 | $2,836 | $1,309 | 18.2% |
| Minnesota | $34,016 | $36,706 | $2,835 | $1,308 | 18.2% |
| Maryland | $33,993 | $36,176 | $2,833 | $1,307 | 18.3% |
| Hawaii | $33,963 | $36,869 | $2,830 | $1,306 | 18.4% |
| Delaware | $33,807 | $35,970 | $2,817 | $1,300 | 18.7% |
| Alabama | $33,791 | $36,053 | $2,816 | $1,300 | 18.8% |
| Maine | $33,771 | $36,440 | $2,814 | $1,299 | 18.8% |
| New York | $33,745 | $36,214 | $2,812 | $1,298 | 18.9% |
| Illinois | $33,691 | $35,708 | $2,808 | $1,296 | 19% |
| Massachusetts | $33,554 | $35,646 | $2,796 | $1,291 | 19.3% |
| Oregon | $32,504 | $35,206 | $2,709 | $1,250 | 21.9% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $41,600 include nursing assistants ($42,260), laborers and material movers ($40,240), customer service representatives ($44,770), medical assistants ($45,690), restaurant cooks ($37,390).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $40,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $20 an hour is how much a year?
- $41,600 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $31,200.
- How much is $20 an hour after taxes?
- Between $32,504 in Oregon and $35,606 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $34,451, or $1,325 every two weeks.
- How much is $20 an hour per month?
- $3,467 a month before taxes, and roughly $2,871 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $20 an hour above the minimum wage?
- Yes. $20 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.