$16 an hour is how much a year?
At $16 an hour, a full-time worker earns $33,280 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $28,174 in a typical state, from $26,605 in Oregon to $28,920 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$16 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $33,280 | $2,773 | $1,280 | $640 |
| 30 hours a week | $24,960 | $2,080 | $960 | $480 |
| 20 hours a week | $16,640 | $1,387 | $640 | $320 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $24.00 under federal law.
$16 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| Nevada | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| New Hampshire | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| North Dakota | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| South Dakota | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| Tennessee | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| Texas | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| Wyoming | $28,920 | $30,626 | $2,410 | $1,112 | 13.1% |
| Ohio | $28,788 | $30,559 | $2,399 | $1,107 | 13.5% |
| Alaska | $28,588 | $30,293 | $2,382 | $1,100 | 14.1% |
| South Carolina | $28,557 | $30,561 | $2,380 | $1,098 | 14.2% |
| Arizona | $28,491 | $30,599 | $2,374 | $1,096 | 14.4% |
| Washington | $28,459 | $30,164 | $2,372 | $1,095 | 14.5% |
| New Mexico | $28,457 | $30,610 | $2,371 | $1,094 | 14.5% |
| Mississippi | $28,321 | $30,359 | $2,360 | $1,089 | 14.9% |
| Louisiana | $28,308 | $30,400 | $2,359 | $1,089 | 14.9% |
| Iowa | $28,308 | $30,626 | $2,359 | $1,089 | 14.9% |
| Missouri | $28,294 | $30,626 | $2,358 | $1,088 | 15% |
| Nebraska | $28,282 | $30,518 | $2,357 | $1,088 | 15% |
| Idaho | $28,265 | $30,626 | $2,355 | $1,087 | 15.1% |
| Wisconsin | $28,237 | $30,415 | $2,353 | $1,086 | 15.2% |
| Utah | $28,210 | $30,626 | $2,351 | $1,085 | 15.2% |
| Vermont | $28,203 | $30,342 | $2,350 | $1,085 | 15.3% |
| Connecticut | $28,181 | $30,274 | $2,348 | $1,084 | 15.3% |
| Arkansas | $28,177 | $30,003 | $2,348 | $1,084 | 15.3% |
| California | $28,174 | $30,193 | $2,348 | $1,084 | 15.3% |
| Montana | $28,113 | $30,575 | $2,343 | $1,081 | 15.5% |
| North Carolina | $28,101 | $30,316 | $2,342 | $1,081 | 15.6% |
| District of Columbia | $28,090 | $30,583 | $2,341 | $1,080 | 15.6% |
| West Virginia | $28,090 | $29,858 | $2,341 | $1,080 | 15.6% |
| Colorado | $28,018 | $30,432 | $2,335 | $1,078 | 15.8% |
| Georgia | $28,008 | $30,462 | $2,334 | $1,077 | 15.8% |
| New Jersey | $28,003 | $29,726 | $2,334 | $1,077 | 15.9% |
| Oklahoma | $27,968 | $30,219 | $2,331 | $1,076 | 16% |
| Indiana | $27,968 | $29,703 | $2,331 | $1,076 | 16% |
| Rhode Island | $27,923 | $30,246 | $2,327 | $1,074 | 16.1% |
| Hawaii | $27,886 | $30,250 | $2,324 | $1,073 | 16.2% |
| Kentucky | $27,873 | $29,579 | $2,323 | $1,072 | 16.2% |
| Kansas | $27,854 | $30,277 | $2,321 | $1,071 | 16.3% |
| Pennsylvania | $27,852 | $29,558 | $2,321 | $1,071 | 16.3% |
| Virginia | $27,821 | $30,060 | $2,318 | $1,070 | 16.4% |
| Minnesota | $27,812 | $30,336 | $2,318 | $1,070 | 16.4% |
| Michigan | $27,757 | $29,713 | $2,313 | $1,068 | 16.6% |
| Maryland | $27,703 | $29,720 | $2,309 | $1,066 | 16.8% |
| Delaware | $27,617 | $29,613 | $2,301 | $1,062 | 17% |
| Maine | $27,616 | $30,113 | $2,301 | $1,062 | 17% |
| New York | $27,545 | $29,779 | $2,295 | $1,059 | 17.2% |
| Alabama | $27,521 | $29,617 | $2,293 | $1,059 | 17.3% |
| Illinois | $27,418 | $29,268 | $2,285 | $1,055 | 17.6% |
| Massachusetts | $27,323 | $29,249 | $2,277 | $1,051 | 17.9% |
| Oregon | $26,605 | $29,140 | $2,217 | $1,023 | 20.1% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $33,280 include cashiers ($32,880), waiters and waitresses ($35,230), retail salespersons ($35,410), restaurant cooks ($37,390).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $35,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $16 an hour is how much a year?
- $33,280 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $24,960.
- How much is $16 an hour after taxes?
- Between $26,605 in Oregon and $28,920 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $28,174, or $1,084 every two weeks.
- How much is $16 an hour per month?
- $2,773 a month before taxes, and roughly $2,348 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $16 an hour above the minimum wage?
- $16 meets the statewide minimum in 47 of 51 states and DC. See minimum wage by state.