$15 an hour is how much a year?
At $15 an hour, a full-time worker earns $31,200 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $26,582 in a typical state, from $25,130 in Oregon to $27,249 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$15 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $31,200 | $2,600 | $1,200 | $600 |
| 30 hours a week | $23,400 | $1,950 | $900 | $450 |
| 20 hours a week | $15,600 | $1,300 | $600 | $300 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $22.50 under federal law.
$15 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| Nevada | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| New Hampshire | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| North Dakota | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| South Dakota | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| Tennessee | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| Texas | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| Wyoming | $27,249 | $28,813 | $2,271 | $1,048 | 12.7% |
| Ohio | $27,174 | $28,804 | $2,264 | $1,045 | 12.9% |
| Alaska | $26,937 | $28,501 | $2,245 | $1,036 | 13.7% |
| South Carolina | $26,927 | $28,789 | $2,244 | $1,036 | 13.7% |
| Arizona | $26,872 | $28,813 | $2,239 | $1,034 | 13.9% |
| New Mexico | $26,860 | $28,813 | $2,238 | $1,033 | 13.9% |
| Washington | $26,816 | $28,380 | $2,235 | $1,031 | 14.1% |
| Mississippi | $26,733 | $28,629 | $2,228 | $1,028 | 14.3% |
| Missouri | $26,720 | $28,813 | $2,227 | $1,028 | 14.4% |
| Iowa | $26,715 | $28,813 | $2,226 | $1,028 | 14.4% |
| Idaho | $26,704 | $28,813 | $2,225 | $1,027 | 14.4% |
| Louisiana | $26,699 | $28,650 | $2,225 | $1,027 | 14.4% |
| Nebraska | $26,684 | $28,778 | $2,224 | $1,026 | 14.5% |
| Utah | $26,658 | $28,813 | $2,221 | $1,025 | 14.6% |
| Wisconsin | $26,657 | $28,675 | $2,221 | $1,025 | 14.6% |
| Connecticut | $26,614 | $28,513 | $2,218 | $1,024 | 14.7% |
| Vermont | $26,604 | $28,601 | $2,217 | $1,023 | 14.7% |
| California | $26,598 | $28,408 | $2,216 | $1,023 | 14.8% |
| Arkansas | $26,582 | $28,266 | $2,215 | $1,022 | 14.8% |
| District of Columbia | $26,543 | $28,813 | $2,212 | $1,021 | 14.9% |
| Montana | $26,540 | $28,813 | $2,212 | $1,021 | 14.9% |
| North Carolina | $26,513 | $28,586 | $2,209 | $1,020 | 15% |
| West Virginia | $26,484 | $28,111 | $2,207 | $1,019 | 15.1% |
| Colorado | $26,448 | $28,676 | $2,204 | $1,017 | 15.2% |
| Georgia | $26,441 | $28,753 | $2,203 | $1,017 | 15.3% |
| New Jersey | $26,394 | $27,976 | $2,200 | $1,015 | 15.4% |
| Oklahoma | $26,391 | $28,500 | $2,199 | $1,015 | 15.4% |
| Hawaii | $26,358 | $28,476 | $2,197 | $1,014 | 15.5% |
| Indiana | $26,358 | $27,952 | $2,197 | $1,014 | 15.5% |
| Rhode Island | $26,353 | $28,470 | $2,196 | $1,014 | 15.5% |
| Kansas | $26,291 | $28,572 | $2,191 | $1,011 | 15.7% |
| Kentucky | $26,275 | $27,839 | $2,190 | $1,011 | 15.8% |
| Virginia | $26,269 | $28,351 | $2,189 | $1,010 | 15.8% |
| Minnesota | $26,261 | $28,644 | $2,188 | $1,010 | 15.8% |
| Pennsylvania | $26,248 | $27,812 | $2,187 | $1,010 | 15.9% |
| Michigan | $26,174 | $27,989 | $2,181 | $1,007 | 16.1% |
| Maryland | $26,131 | $28,006 | $2,178 | $1,005 | 16.2% |
| Maine | $26,075 | $28,431 | $2,173 | $1,003 | 16.4% |
| Delaware | $26,070 | $27,923 | $2,172 | $1,003 | 16.4% |
| New York | $25,995 | $28,056 | $2,166 | $1,000 | 16.7% |
| Alabama | $25,954 | $27,908 | $2,163 | $998 | 16.8% |
| Illinois | $25,850 | $27,558 | $2,154 | $994 | 17.1% |
| Massachusetts | $25,766 | $27,550 | $2,147 | $991 | 17.4% |
| Oregon | $25,130 | $27,524 | $2,094 | $967 | 19.5% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $31,200 include cashiers ($32,880), waiters and waitresses ($35,230), retail salespersons ($35,410).
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $30,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $15 an hour is how much a year?
- $31,200 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $23,400.
- How much is $15 an hour after taxes?
- Between $25,130 in Oregon and $27,249 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $26,582, or $1,022 every two weeks.
- How much is $15 an hour per month?
- $2,600 a month before taxes, and roughly $2,215 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $15 an hour above the minimum wage?
- $15 meets the statewide minimum in 39 of 51 states and DC. See minimum wage by state.