Wagevane

$42 an hour is how much a year?

At $42 an hour, a full-time worker earns $87,360 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $67,038 in a typical state, from $62,862 in Oregon to $70,288 in Florida.

Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.

$42 an hour by pay period

ScheduleYearlyMonthlyEvery 2 weeksWeekly
40 hours a week$87,360$7,280$3,360$1,680
30 hours a week$65,520$5,460$2,520$1,260
20 hours a week$43,680$3,640$1,680$840

Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $63.00 under federal law.

$42 an hour after taxes in every state

StateTake-home (single)Take-home (married)Per monthEvery 2 weeksTax rate
Florida$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
Nevada$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
New Hampshire$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
South Dakota$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
Tennessee$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
Texas$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
Wyoming$70,288$74,554$5,857$2,70319.5%
North Dakota$69,843$74,554$5,820$2,68620.1%
Alaska$69,746$74,012$5,812$2,68320.2%
Washington$69,076$73,342$5,756$2,65720.9%
Ohio$68,668$73,000$5,722$2,64121.4%
Arizona$68,506$73,175$5,709$2,63521.6%
Louisiana$68,053$72,705$5,671$2,61722.1%
Indiana$67,740$72,036$5,645$2,60522.5%
Iowa$67,620$72,538$5,635$2,60122.6%
Arkansas$67,543$71,929$5,629$2,59822.7%
Mississippi$67,525$72,123$5,627$2,59722.7%
South Carolina$67,484$72,531$5,624$2,59622.8%
Pennsylvania$67,484$71,750$5,624$2,59622.8%
Kentucky$67,348$71,614$5,612$2,59022.9%
New Mexico$67,338$72,572$5,612$2,59022.9%
North Carolina$67,311$72,086$5,609$2,58923%
Nebraska$67,192$72,338$5,599$2,58423.1%
West Virginia$67,176$71,533$5,598$2,58423.1%
Missouri$67,119$72,142$5,593$2,58223.2%
Wisconsin$67,038$72,090$5,587$2,57823.3%
Oklahoma$66,902$71,714$5,575$2,57323.4%
Vermont$66,886$72,399$5,574$2,57323.4%
Michigan$66,826$71,342$5,569$2,57023.5%
Colorado$66,768$71,742$5,564$2,56823.6%
Idaho$66,766$72,140$5,564$2,56823.6%
Montana$66,713$71,961$5,559$2,56623.6%
Georgia$66,677$71,691$5,556$2,56423.7%
Rhode Island$66,668$71,551$5,556$2,56423.7%
Connecticut$66,621$71,766$5,552$2,56223.7%
Maryland$66,502$71,079$5,542$2,55823.9%
Utah$66,467$71,936$5,539$2,55623.9%
Kansas$66,213$71,336$5,518$2,54724.2%
Alabama$66,185$70,841$5,515$2,54624.2%
New Jersey$66,163$71,865$5,514$2,54524.3%
Illinois$66,108$70,519$5,509$2,54324.3%
Virginia$66,079$70,901$5,507$2,54124.4%
District of Columbia$65,831$71,368$5,486$2,53224.6%
New York$65,759$70,627$5,480$2,52924.7%
Massachusetts$65,738$70,224$5,478$2,52824.8%
Delaware$65,514$70,104$5,459$2,52025%
Minnesota$65,486$71,016$5,457$2,51925%
California$65,273$71,958$5,439$2,51025.3%
Maine$65,100$70,584$5,425$2,50425.5%
Hawaii$65,062$71,012$5,422$2,50225.5%
Oregon$62,862$67,957$5,238$2,41828%

Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.

Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $87,360 include accountants and auditors ($83,680).

To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $85,000 a year after taxes.

Frequently asked questions

$42 an hour is how much a year?
$87,360 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $65,520.
How much is $42 an hour after taxes?
Between $62,862 in Oregon and $70,288 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $67,038, or $2,578 every two weeks.
How much is $42 an hour per month?
$7,280 a month before taxes, and roughly $5,587 after taxes in a typical state.
Is $42 an hour above the minimum wage?
Yes. $42 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.