Wagevane

$40 an hour is how much a year?

At $40 an hour, a full-time worker earns $83,200 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $64,332 in a typical state, from $60,328 in Oregon to $67,361 in Florida.

Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.

$40 an hour by pay period

ScheduleYearlyMonthlyEvery 2 weeksWeekly
40 hours a week$83,200$6,933$3,200$1,600
30 hours a week$62,400$5,200$2,400$1,200
20 hours a week$41,600$3,467$1,600$800

Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $60.00 under federal law.

$40 an hour after taxes in every state

StateTake-home (single)Take-home (married)Per monthEvery 2 weeksTax rate
Florida$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
Nevada$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
New Hampshire$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
South Dakota$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
Tennessee$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
Texas$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
Wyoming$67,361$71,211$5,613$2,59119%
North Dakota$66,998$71,211$5,583$2,57719.5%
Alaska$66,819$70,669$5,568$2,57019.7%
Washington$66,207$70,057$5,517$2,54620.4%
Ohio$65,856$69,772$5,488$2,53320.8%
Arizona$65,684$69,936$5,474$2,52621.1%
Louisiana$65,251$69,488$5,438$2,51021.6%
Indiana$64,936$68,816$5,411$2,49822%
Iowa$64,851$69,353$5,404$2,49422.1%
South Carolina$64,774$69,405$5,398$2,49122.1%
Arkansas$64,770$68,741$5,398$2,49122.2%
Mississippi$64,765$68,947$5,397$2,49122.2%
Pennsylvania$64,690$68,540$5,391$2,48822.2%
New Mexico$64,615$69,425$5,385$2,48522.3%
Kentucky$64,567$68,417$5,381$2,48322.4%
North Carolina$64,550$68,909$5,379$2,48322.4%
Nebraska$64,455$69,185$5,371$2,47922.5%
West Virginia$64,440$68,381$5,370$2,47822.5%
Missouri$64,388$68,995$5,366$2,47622.6%
Wisconsin$64,332$68,930$5,361$2,47422.7%
Vermont$64,239$69,200$5,353$2,47122.8%
Oklahoma$64,163$68,558$5,347$2,46822.9%
Michigan$64,076$68,177$5,340$2,46423%
Idaho$64,060$69,018$5,338$2,46423%
Colorado$64,043$68,601$5,337$2,46323%
Montana$64,021$68,814$5,335$2,46223.1%
Georgia$63,958$68,557$5,330$2,46023.1%
Connecticut$63,944$68,631$5,329$2,45923.1%
Rhode Island$63,943$68,410$5,329$2,45923.1%
Utah$63,780$68,833$5,315$2,45323.3%
Maryland$63,773$67,934$5,314$2,45323.3%
New Jersey$63,519$68,770$5,293$2,44323.7%
Kansas$63,518$68,225$5,293$2,44323.7%
Alabama$63,466$67,706$5,289$2,44123.7%
Virginia$63,391$67,798$5,283$2,43823.8%
Illinois$63,388$67,382$5,282$2,43823.8%
District of Columbia$63,258$68,296$5,271$2,43324%
New York$63,075$67,527$5,256$2,42624.2%
Massachusetts$63,038$67,108$5,253$2,42524.2%
Delaware$62,878$67,053$5,240$2,41824.4%
Minnesota$62,861$67,974$5,238$2,41824.4%
California$62,787$68,836$5,232$2,41524.5%
Maine$62,492$67,543$5,208$2,40424.9%
Hawaii$62,452$67,953$5,204$2,40224.9%
Oregon$60,328$65,008$5,027$2,32027.5%

Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.

Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $83,200 include accountants and auditors ($83,680).

To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $85,000 a year after taxes.

Frequently asked questions

$40 an hour is how much a year?
$83,200 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $62,400.
How much is $40 an hour after taxes?
Between $60,328 in Oregon and $67,361 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $64,332, or $2,474 every two weeks.
How much is $40 an hour per month?
$6,933 a month before taxes, and roughly $5,361 after taxes in a typical state.
Is $40 an hour above the minimum wage?
Yes. $40 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.