Wagevane

$38 an hour is how much a year?

At $38 an hour, a full-time worker earns $79,040 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $61,626 in a typical state, from $57,795 in Oregon to $64,435 in Florida.

Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.

$38 an hour by pay period

ScheduleYearlyMonthlyEvery 2 weeksWeekly
40 hours a week$79,040$6,587$3,040$1,520
30 hours a week$59,280$4,940$2,280$1,140
20 hours a week$39,520$3,293$1,520$760

Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $57.00 under federal law.

$38 an hour after taxes in every state

StateTake-home (single)Take-home (married)Per monthEvery 2 weeksTax rate
Florida$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
Nevada$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
New Hampshire$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
South Dakota$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
Tennessee$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
Texas$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
Wyoming$64,435$67,869$5,370$2,47818.5%
North Dakota$64,153$67,869$5,346$2,46718.8%
Alaska$63,893$67,327$5,324$2,45719.2%
Washington$63,338$66,772$5,278$2,43619.9%
Ohio$63,043$66,543$5,254$2,42520.2%
Arizona$62,861$66,698$5,238$2,41820.5%
Louisiana$62,450$66,270$5,204$2,40221%
Indiana$62,132$65,596$5,178$2,39021.4%
Iowa$62,083$66,169$5,174$2,38821.5%
South Carolina$62,064$66,280$5,172$2,38721.5%
Mississippi$62,005$65,771$5,167$2,38521.6%
Arkansas$61,998$65,552$5,166$2,38521.6%
Pennsylvania$61,897$65,331$5,158$2,38121.7%
New Mexico$61,885$66,266$5,157$2,38021.7%
North Carolina$61,790$65,732$5,149$2,37721.8%
Kentucky$61,786$65,220$5,149$2,37621.8%
Nebraska$61,718$66,031$5,143$2,37421.9%
West Virginia$61,704$65,229$5,142$2,37321.9%
Missouri$61,657$65,848$5,138$2,37122%
Wisconsin$61,626$65,771$5,136$2,37022%
Vermont$61,591$66,002$5,133$2,36922.1%
Oklahoma$61,423$65,403$5,119$2,36222.3%
Idaho$61,354$65,896$5,113$2,36022.4%
Montana$61,330$65,667$5,111$2,35922.4%
Michigan$61,326$65,011$5,111$2,35922.4%
Colorado$61,318$65,460$5,110$2,35822.4%
Connecticut$61,267$65,497$5,106$2,35622.5%
Georgia$61,239$65,422$5,103$2,35522.5%
Rhode Island$61,218$65,269$5,102$2,35522.5%
Utah$61,093$65,729$5,091$2,35022.7%
Maryland$61,044$64,789$5,087$2,34822.8%
New Jersey$60,875$65,614$5,073$2,34123%
Kansas$60,824$65,115$5,069$2,33923%
Alabama$60,748$64,572$5,062$2,33623.1%
Virginia$60,704$64,695$5,059$2,33523.2%
District of Columbia$60,685$65,224$5,057$2,33423.2%
Illinois$60,667$64,246$5,056$2,33323.2%
New York$60,391$64,427$5,033$2,32323.6%
Massachusetts$60,339$63,993$5,028$2,32123.7%
California$60,301$65,714$5,025$2,31923.7%
Delaware$60,243$64,001$5,020$2,31723.8%
Minnesota$60,236$64,929$5,020$2,31723.8%
Maine$59,884$64,473$4,990$2,30324.2%
Hawaii$59,841$64,893$4,987$2,30224.3%
Oregon$57,795$62,059$4,816$2,22326.9%

Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.

Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $79,040 include police and sheriff's patrol officers ($76,210), human resources specialists ($75,940), accountants and auditors ($83,680).

To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $80,000 a year after taxes.

Frequently asked questions

$38 an hour is how much a year?
$79,040 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $59,280.
How much is $38 an hour after taxes?
Between $57,795 in Oregon and $64,435 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $61,626, or $2,370 every two weeks.
How much is $38 an hour per month?
$6,587 a month before taxes, and roughly $5,136 after taxes in a typical state.
Is $38 an hour above the minimum wage?
Yes. $38 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.