Wagevane

$43 an hour is how much a year?

At $43 an hour, a full-time worker earns $89,440 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $68,391 in a typical state, from $64,129 in Oregon to $71,751 in Florida.

Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.

$43 an hour by pay period

ScheduleYearlyMonthlyEvery 2 weeksWeekly
40 hours a week$89,440$7,453$3,440$1,720
30 hours a week$67,080$5,590$2,580$1,290
20 hours a week$44,720$3,727$1,720$860

Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $64.50 under federal law.

$43 an hour after taxes in every state

StateTake-home (single)Take-home (married)Per monthEvery 2 weeksTax rate
Florida$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
Nevada$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
New Hampshire$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
South Dakota$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
Tennessee$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
Texas$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
Wyoming$71,751$76,225$5,979$2,76019.8%
North Dakota$71,266$76,225$5,939$2,74120.3%
Alaska$71,209$75,683$5,934$2,73920.4%
Washington$70,510$74,984$5,876$2,71221.2%
Ohio$70,074$74,614$5,839$2,69521.7%
Arizona$69,918$74,794$5,826$2,68921.8%
Louisiana$69,454$74,314$5,788$2,67122.3%
Indiana$69,142$73,646$5,762$2,65922.7%
Iowa$69,004$74,130$5,750$2,65422.8%
Arkansas$68,929$73,524$5,744$2,65122.9%
Mississippi$68,905$73,711$5,742$2,65023%
Pennsylvania$68,880$73,354$5,740$2,64923%
South Carolina$68,839$74,094$5,737$2,64823%
Kentucky$68,738$73,212$5,728$2,64423.1%
New Mexico$68,699$74,146$5,725$2,64223.2%
North Carolina$68,691$73,674$5,724$2,64223.2%
Nebraska$68,561$73,915$5,713$2,63723.3%
West Virginia$68,544$73,109$5,712$2,63623.4%
Missouri$68,485$73,715$5,707$2,63423.4%
Wisconsin$68,391$73,670$5,699$2,63023.5%
Oklahoma$68,272$73,291$5,689$2,62623.7%
Vermont$68,210$73,998$5,684$2,62323.7%
Michigan$68,201$72,925$5,683$2,62323.7%
Colorado$68,131$73,313$5,678$2,62023.8%
Idaho$68,119$73,701$5,677$2,62023.8%
Montana$68,059$73,535$5,672$2,61823.9%
Georgia$68,036$73,259$5,670$2,61723.9%
Rhode Island$68,030$73,121$5,669$2,61723.9%
Connecticut$67,960$73,333$5,663$2,61424%
Maryland$67,866$72,651$5,656$2,61024.1%
Utah$67,811$73,488$5,651$2,60824.2%
Kansas$67,560$72,891$5,630$2,59824.5%
Alabama$67,544$72,408$5,629$2,59824.5%
New Jersey$67,485$73,412$5,624$2,59624.5%
Illinois$67,469$72,087$5,622$2,59524.6%
Virginia$67,422$72,453$5,619$2,59324.6%
District of Columbia$67,117$72,904$5,593$2,58125%
New York$67,097$72,177$5,591$2,58125%
Massachusetts$67,088$71,782$5,591$2,58025%
Delaware$66,831$71,630$5,569$2,57025.3%
Minnesota$66,799$72,537$5,567$2,56925.3%
California$66,515$73,519$5,543$2,55825.6%
Maine$66,405$72,104$5,534$2,55425.8%
Hawaii$66,367$72,542$5,531$2,55325.8%
Oregon$64,129$69,432$5,344$2,46628.3%

Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.

Jobs with a U.S. median salary near $89,440 include accountants and auditors ($83,680).

To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $90,000 a year after taxes.

Frequently asked questions

$43 an hour is how much a year?
$89,440 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $67,080.
How much is $43 an hour after taxes?
Between $64,129 in Oregon and $71,751 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $68,391, or $2,630 every two weeks.
How much is $43 an hour per month?
$7,453 a month before taxes, and roughly $5,699 after taxes in a typical state.
Is $43 an hour above the minimum wage?
Yes. $43 is at or above the minimum wage in every state and DC.