$10 an hour is how much a year?
At $10 an hour, a full-time worker earns $20,800 a year before taxes. After federal and state taxes that is about $18,450 in a typical state, from $17,603 in Oregon to $18,739 in Florida.
Tax year 2026. Federal, Social Security, Medicare and state income tax plus state-mandated payroll programs. Data last verified November 2, 2026. Methodology.
$10 an hour by pay period
| Schedule | Yearly | Monthly | Every 2 weeks | Weekly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 hours a week | $20,800 | $1,733 | $800 | $400 |
| 30 hours a week | $15,600 | $1,300 | $600 | $300 |
| 20 hours a week | $10,400 | $867 | $400 | $200 |
Before taxes. With overtime, each hour over 40 in a week pays $15.00 under federal law.
$10 an hour after taxes in every state
| State | Take-home (single) | Take-home (married) | Per month | Every 2 weeks | Tax rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Idaho | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Nevada | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| New Hampshire | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| North Dakota | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Ohio | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| South Dakota | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Tennessee | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Texas | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Utah | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| Wyoming | $18,739 | $19,209 | $1,562 | $721 | 9.9% |
| New Mexico | $18,668 | $19,209 | $1,556 | $718 | 10.2% |
| Missouri | $18,658 | $19,209 | $1,555 | $718 | 10.3% |
| Mississippi | $18,639 | $19,209 | $1,553 | $717 | 10.4% |
| South Carolina | $18,623 | $19,209 | $1,552 | $716 | 10.5% |
| Arizona | $18,621 | $19,209 | $1,552 | $716 | 10.5% |
| Iowa | $18,600 | $19,209 | $1,550 | $715 | 10.6% |
| District of Columbia | $18,551 | $19,209 | $1,546 | $713 | 10.8% |
| Nebraska | $18,539 | $19,209 | $1,545 | $713 | 10.9% |
| Alaska | $18,531 | $19,001 | $1,544 | $713 | 10.9% |
| Wisconsin | $18,524 | $19,209 | $1,544 | $712 | 10.9% |
| Connecticut | $18,519 | $19,105 | $1,543 | $712 | 11% |
| Montana | $18,518 | $19,209 | $1,543 | $712 | 11% |
| Louisiana | $18,501 | $19,209 | $1,542 | $712 | 11.1% |
| Vermont | $18,453 | $19,186 | $1,538 | $710 | 11.3% |
| Washington | $18,450 | $18,920 | $1,538 | $710 | 11.3% |
| Georgia | $18,449 | $19,209 | $1,537 | $710 | 11.3% |
| Colorado | $18,440 | $19,117 | $1,537 | $709 | 11.3% |
| Hawaii | $18,435 | $19,070 | $1,536 | $709 | 11.4% |
| Arkansas | $18,433 | $19,015 | $1,536 | $709 | 11.4% |
| California | $18,430 | $18,938 | $1,536 | $709 | 11.4% |
| North Carolina | $18,418 | $19,209 | $1,535 | $708 | 11.5% |
| Minnesota | $18,353 | $19,117 | $1,529 | $706 | 11.8% |
| Oklahoma | $18,348 | $19,209 | $1,529 | $706 | 11.8% |
| Rhode Island | $18,347 | $18,980 | $1,529 | $706 | 11.8% |
| Kansas | $18,321 | $19,209 | $1,527 | $705 | 11.9% |
| Virginia | $18,313 | $19,180 | $1,526 | $704 | 12% |
| West Virginia | $18,281 | $18,807 | $1,523 | $703 | 12.1% |
| Maine | $18,220 | $19,105 | $1,518 | $701 | 12.4% |
| New Jersey | $18,197 | $18,681 | $1,516 | $700 | 12.5% |
| Indiana | $18,155 | $18,654 | $1,513 | $698 | 12.7% |
| Delaware | $18,142 | $18,878 | $1,512 | $698 | 12.8% |
| Kentucky | $18,128 | $18,598 | $1,511 | $697 | 12.8% |
| Maryland | $18,114 | $18,896 | $1,510 | $697 | 12.9% |
| Michigan | $18,106 | $18,826 | $1,509 | $696 | 13% |
| New York | $18,089 | $18,902 | $1,507 | $696 | 13% |
| Pennsylvania | $18,071 | $18,541 | $1,506 | $695 | 13.1% |
| Alabama | $17,964 | $18,824 | $1,497 | $691 | 13.6% |
| Illinois | $17,854 | $18,469 | $1,488 | $687 | 14.2% |
| Massachusetts | $17,823 | $18,513 | $1,485 | $686 | 14.3% |
| Oregon | $17,603 | $18,746 | $1,467 | $677 | 15.4% |
Single filer, standard deduction, no pre-tax deductions or local taxes.
To include a 401(k), a spouse's income or a different schedule, use the paycheck calculator. Yearly equivalent: $30,000 a year after taxes.
Frequently asked questions
- $10 an hour is how much a year?
- $20,800 before taxes for a full-time job (40 hours a week, 52 weeks). At 30 hours a week it is $15,600.
- How much is $10 an hour after taxes?
- Between $17,603 in Oregon and $18,739 in Florida a year for a single filer. The middle state keeps about $18,450, or $710 every two weeks.
- How much is $10 an hour per month?
- $1,733 a month before taxes, and roughly $1,538 after taxes in a typical state.
- Is $10 an hour above the minimum wage?
- $10 meets the statewide minimum in 21 of 51 states and DC. See minimum wage by state.